The Music of Leos Janácek: Motive, Rhythm, Structure [Hardback]

Zdenek Skoumal(Author)

ISBN: 9781580469944 | Published by: University of Rochester Press | Series: Eastman Studies in Music | Volume: 170 | Year of Publication: 2020 | 302p, H9 x W6, 170 line.
Status: In Stock - Available

The Music of Leos Janácek


The works of Leos Janácek, including Jenufa and several of his other operas, have been widely performed in recent years. But they have rarely been investigated closely from a theoretical perspective, and their musical language remains only partially understood. Zdenek Skoumal here offers a chronological exploration of Janácek's compositions that focuses on musical structure, identifying elements and processes that give the music coherence, character, and interest.

Skoumal demonstrates how the music combines and blends traditional tonal elements, folk-influenced features, and techniques that were forward-looking at the time. In particular, the music is shown to employ highly sophisticated and continually transforming motivic and rhythmic components.

The book's numerous musical analyses are motivically centered and employ various analytical approaches, including ones that involve reduction, structural levels, basic set theory, and rhythmic theory. Discussions of Janácek's works with a libretto or other type of text consider relationships between word and music, revealing their connection to deeper structural issues.

Zdenek Skoumal is a music theorist and independent scholar who has held teaching appointments at Kwantlen Polytechnic University, the University of British Columbia, and McGill University.

Table of Contents

Janácek's Motives
Musical Elements
Nineteenth-Century Foundation
Folk Studies
Middle-Period Works
The Cunning Little Vixen
The Wandering Madman
First String Quartet - First Movement
Three Rhythmic Studies

Additional Information

AmazonLink N/A
AppleLink N/A
BNLink N/A
GoogleLink N/A
KoboLink N/A

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.