The Sound of the North: The Norwegian Jazz Scene [Paperback]

Luca Vitali (Author); Fiona Talkington (Editor)

ISBN: 9788898599530 | Published by: Mimesis International | Volume: 3 | Year of Publication: 2015 | Language: English 190p,

The Sound of the North


This is the first monograph dedicated to the extremely lively Norwegian jazz scene, through a reconstruction of the history that has given Norway a fundamental role in Europe for the emancipation of jazz with African American roots. It is an itinerary that began in the 1960s, with the arrival in Oslo of George Russell, and continues to this day. This is a passionate account dense with anecdotes, unpublished interviews and encounters, which documents the richness and originality of a journey through the musical culture of our times.With a gentle yet incisive approach, with a warm humour and a deep admiration for the music and musicians and for all those who work so hard in the music industries, Luca Vitali has produced a classic and important history which needed to be written. The Sound of the North is more than a history book, it is a view from abroad, one person's journey of discovery told through his own experiences and encounters with musicians, writers, journalists, promoters and record labels. The author has gone to Norway to uncover and reveal the riches which are enduring, the creative and human spirit of a seemingly quiet and reserved nation which, actually, has so much to say and so much to give. An accompanying website is available at

Reviews & Quotes

"Packed full of photos and well annotated and attractively laid-out, the book is a must for anyone interested in Norwegian jazz."
Stephen Graham
Marlbank (30/10/2015)

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.